We’re Eating … Salmon Cakes and Roasted Greens Beans

 

I was in a bit of a pinch this evening when it came time to decide on dinner. I hadn’t planned anything, the cupboard was somewhat bare, and the day had been busy. As such, I fell back on an old favorite which is quick-cooking, easy to prepare, and relatively healthy. My favorite recipe for salmon cakes comes from Giada de Laurentiis of Food Network fame. I follow her recipe for the most part, but I never purchase saltine crackers for my pantry, so I always substitute panko in their place. The recipe also mandates one hour of refrigeration after forming the salmon cakes. I have never done that, and they always come out fine.

image

Apparently I am a big fan of yoghurt sauces … this recipe calls for a delicious yoghurt-lemon accompaniment. Don’t skip the sauce: It makes the meal. I don’t always add the capers to the sauce, however. I feel like the salty, briny-ness of the capers is sufficiently expressed in the salmon cakes, so I like to keep the sauce bright and fresh with the lemon taking center-stage.

I served the salmon cakes on a bed of locally-grown lettuce, with oven-roasted green beans as the side. (Please note that the food is not styled at all … real life happening this evening. I love when I have time to style, but many times dinner just needs to hit the table!)

As for those green beans, it couldn’t be simpler: Trim, toss on a sheet pan, drizzle with olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. Roast at 375 degrees (or higher if you prefer) for about 20-25 minutes until they are as done as you enjoy. Just for funsies, I sprinkled some slivered almonds over the green beans before serving.

This meal came together in about 25 minutes. It helped us avoid the siren-song of takeout, and was healthy and satisfying. Win, win!

What are your favorite in-a-pinch recipes?

With Peace,

Jennie

Leave a Reply

