Gone Yurting

“Where?” “What is that?” was the response I got when I told people that I would be spending a few days “camping” in a yurt on Mount Desert Island in Maine. As it turns out, it seems that many people are not conversant with these ancient, circular tribal dwellings, although it is my understanding that they are becoming a thing. As one person said, “I am not familiar with the yurt experience!” Well, neither was I until this week.

The whole thing was very impulsive and last-minute. One evening, very late, I turned to Mr. Thistle and said, ” Hey, wanna go glamping in a yurt in Acadia?” “Sure,” he said, with enthusiasm. “What’s glamping?” “Oh, you know … glamorous camping,” said I, rather nonchalantly, with a little wave of my hand, as if this were an everyday thing for me. “Book it” he replied.

Next thing you know, without engaging much additional brain activity, I had done just that. Here is the thing: I am a nature lover. I love nature! Love. But … BUT! I do not enjoy camping. I like the idea of camping, but not the practical application of said idea. Mr. Thistle on the other hand … well, he camps out for fun. In the middle of January. You know … “fun.”

By the time it was time to go, I had worked myself into a lather about the whole business, but most especially about my arch-nemesis in life: Ticks. I had read an article that M.D.I. is positively peppered with them. And I was going to be hanging out in the woods with the despicable things? Oh, no, no, no. Not acceptable.

Four days before we were to leave, I woke up to find a tick attached to my left temple. The irony of that isn’t lost on me, but massive amounts of freaking out ensued, nonetheless. First I snatched the horrible thing off my temple and chucked it across the room in a passion. Then, because I had just thrown a tick across my bedroom like an idiot, I had to go find it. When I located it, just seconds later thanks to Miss Thistle’s sharp eyes, to my absolute horror, the tick was making its way across Little Thistle’s pant leg. Finally, sense kicked in, because I knew better than to smash it. Into a bag it went, where I watched it circling for a while. I might as well have been locked in a padded room for the rest of the day after that business.

But back to those yurts! We finally got there after 18 hours on the road. It was only supposed to take 11 hours, but our car very rudely broke down in Massachusetts, which resulted in some interesting hours as we figured that out. Unlike the tick incident, I was pretty pleased with our level of adult-ing on this one. (Thankfully, the car was Mr. Thistle’s fleet vehicle, so all the experience cost us was our time, and not our money).

At 1:30 in the morning, we schlepped our belongings and the two Little Thistles down a path in the woods, opened the yurt, and finally settled in. Though the Maine wilderness was just outside, the inside of these particular yurts was very accommodating and welcoming (aside from the appearance of a large-ish spider who had to be dispatched forthwith. That was a big nope). A comfortable queen-sized bed and a bathroom complete with a proper toilet and a (hot!) shower were among the amenities. There was also a kitchen with a stove and refrigerator. Oh, and the yurts were heated. Yesssss. Very nice. Very nice indeed.

We thoroughly enjoyed four nights in our yurt, and we explored the beautiful natural wonders of Mount Desert Island by day. M.D.I. happens to be one of our favorite places, and our geographic memories of the island returned quickly, making navigation easy. We managed to hit up all of spots we wanted to see. Huzzah!

Some of our favorite places, like Thurston’s Lobster Pound and Abel’s Lobster Pound were not yet open for the season, but we found plenty of good places to eat. Typically we would have had a dinner at the beautiful Reading Room at the historic Bar Harbor Inn, but decided to skip that experience this time, due to our little ones. We tackled a nice dinner at Galyn’s, but arrived at “early bird” hours while the little people were in commendable moods. We had a great window view of the Frenchman Bay, and a wonderful server who shared her favorite tips for getting every bit of deliciousness out of a fresh lobster.

I will share some more of our adventures in a future post, as well as more details on the yurts. We had such fun on this impromptu journey to Maine, and were thrilled to introduce our little explorers to this beautiful place.

Have you ever gone yurt camping / glamping … ? What was your impression of the experience? If you haven’t, would you give it a try?

With Peace,

Jennie

2 thoughts on “Gone Yurting

  1. Pingback: The Beech Mountain Yurt, Or, The Only Way I Will Ever Go “Camping” | The Thistle Field

  2. Pingback: Birthday Business | The Thistle Field

Leave a Reply

